this is right where I said I would be

Two things.  Two things after spending an afternoon at the state-run center for orhpans that is home to the office of the project I work with (read the post before this one).  Two things after going into the house that is home to 10 or so babies who have been abandoned in hospitals and dumpsters. Two things after hearing the sad, horrible and unbelievable stories about kids that our social workers have worked with.

1.  Almost all of them were crying when we walked in.  There was one person feeding a boy who was severely disabled, one foreign volunteer running around trying to change diapers and one house mom cleaning up something that had spilled all over the kitchen.  Of course, we (myself and a few friends visiting the project) each picked up a crying baby.  The hardest part was to put the babies back down when we had to leave.  The little tiny one I was holding was happy when I picked him up, but as soon as I put him back down he let out the saddest, most heartbreaking cry.  All he wanted was to be held, and we had to go! Babies need people to love them and care about them and hold them!

2.  After hearing so many sad stories and having to put down babies that just want to be held, my heart was heavy.  It is hard to make sense of God’s goodness, God’s sovereign plan and the cruelty that can be this world after these kinds of experiences.  Last night, during pillow talk, I was telling Guillermo about the day and how sad it was.  I told him that the only thing I felt I could do was pray.  It seems silly or cliche, but it becomes powerful when I realize that I might be one of the only ones who knows about the suffering of these little ones.  I might be the only one who has the opportunity to intercede for them by name and to ask God to intervene in their specific situations.  It is a privileged position to know the suffering of the world, to know what prayer is and to know that God’s heart is good and just and that he is powerful and willing.  Never underestimate the place God has put you!

Ok, three things.  This song is great:

excerpt from “What Now” by Steven Curtis Chapman

I saw the face of Jesus in a little orphan girl
She was standing in the corner on the other side of the world
And I heard the voice of Jesus gently whisper to my heart
Didn’t you say you wanted to find me?
Well here I am, here you are

barrioSo, What now?
What will you do now that you found Me?
What now?
What will you do with this treasure you’ve found?
I know I may not look like what you expected
But if you remember this is right where I said I would be
You’ve found me
What now?

So, come and know
Come and know, know me now
Come, come and know, know me now
Come and know
Come and know, know me now
Come, come and know, know me now

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

