Brown Sugar Pineapple Goodness Sauce for Ice Cream

I pulled this recipe together after reviewing a few I saw on the web.  You can also add rum!  It tastes especially good the day after, when the flavor soaks in.  Better than the stuff from the jar!

Brown Sugar Pineapple Goodness Sauce for Ice Cream

Ingredients:

pineapple 002

1 fresh pineapple

1 T butter

~1 cup brown sugar

optional: rum

Instructions:

pineapple 003

Start by melting the butter and about 1/3 cup of the sugar.  Keep it on low while you cut the pineapple, you don’t want it to burn while you work.

pineapple 006

Cut the ends off the pineapple and discard.  Pay attention, this is the best way to cut up a pineapple.  Trust me.  My mom taught me and I live in a country where we eat a lot of pineapple.

pineapple 009

Stand the pineapple up and cut it into quarters.  Now you are going to cut off the hard inside corners, throw them away.

pineapple 010

Now cut the rough outside off, like this:

pineapple 011

Keep the outside parts because depending on how juicy your pineapple is, you could use a spoon to scrape out the fruit pulp.

Next, you will cut the pineapple up into chunks and eventually a pulp.  Choose your method: a knife and elbow grease, a blender or a food processor.  I decided to try out my new mini-processor I just bought at the grocery store for $7.  Sometimes you get your money’s worth…. in this case, I did.

pineapple 014

pineapple 017

You want a pulp, but not a puree.  Keep some small chunks for texture.

Add the pineapple to the brown sugar and butter.

pineapple 019

Now you will have to use your cooking intution.  Depending on the size of the pineapple and how juicy and ripe it is, you will have to adjust cooking time and the amount of sugar you add.  For this size pineapple, I added almost a cup of brown sugar.  Taste as you cook.  You will notice that before you add the remaining sugar, the sauce just tastes like pineapple.  As you cook (on high now), you should stir occasionally and cook until the sauce sticks to a spoon and all the thin liquid has evaporated from the top.

This sauce is even better the next day!

pineapple 020

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Brown Sugar Pineapple Goodness Sauce for Ice Cream

  1. Mom

    So you did learn something from me? I read that part to Dad and he checked to see if my head was swelling! Sounds yummy.

  2. Hi

    How are you? This looks delish!!
    By the way, your dad is my boss and I did a trial run on your hair for the wedding in case you’re wondering…’who is Gail?’
    🙂
    If you have other recipes, I will be willing to try them…my husband Ernesto just made menudo…:( so that means I have to fumigate the house.

Leave a Reply

